Home > Web Testing > Web Testing, Example Test cases

Web Testing, Example Test cases

WEB TESTING
While testing a web application you need to consider following Cases:

• Functionality Testing
• Performance Testing
• Usability Testing
• Server Side Interface
• Client Side Compatibility
• Security

Functionality:
In testing the functionality of the web sites the following should be tested:
• Links
i. Internal Links
ii. External Links
iii. Mail Links
iv. Broken Links

 

• Forms
i. Field validation
ii. Error message for wrong input
iii. Optional and Mandatory fields

• Database
* Testing will be done on the database integrity.

• Cookies
* Testing will be done on the client system side, on the temporary Internet files.

Performance :
Performance testing can be applied to understand the web site’s scalability, or to benchmark the performance in the environment of third party products such as servers and middleware for potential purchase.

• Connection Speed:
Tested over various networks like Dial Up, ISDN etc
• Load:
i. What is the no. of users per time?
ii. Check for peak loads and how system behaves
iii. Large amount of data accessed by user
• Stress:
i. Continuous Load
ii. Performance of memory, CPU, file handling etc..

Usability:
Usability testing is the process by which the human-computer interaction characteristics of a system are measured, and weaknesses are identified for correction.
• Ease of learning
• Navigation
• Subjective user satisfaction
• General appearance

Server Side Interface:
In web testing the server side interface should be tested. This is done by verify that communication is done properly. Compatibility of server with software, hardware, network and database should be tested.

Client Side Compatibility:
The client side compatibility is also tested in various platforms, using various browsers etc.

Security:
The primary reason for testing the security of a web is to identify potential vulnerabilities and subsequently repair them.
• Network Scanning
• Vulnerability Scanning
• Password Cracking
• Log Review
• Integrity Checkers
• Virus Detection

  1. Mian
    June 12, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Hii buddy

    I am a new graduate form London metropoliton university but i do not have practical experience and i want to be software tester so is there any thing you can help me by providing any practical example which can put my theoratical knowledge into practical shape…. I have been trying to get any help form some wher but couldn’t….
    kindly reply me on my email

    Mian

  2. Ashish S. Mankar
    July 26, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Hi,
    I want some web testing reports to view,So that I will come to know what things actually matter in web testing ,Can u please Send Some reports to me at my Email ID

  3. Manjoosha
    August 2, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Hi,
    I new to testing.I want some testing template examples on testing a website.Can u please send some examples to my Email ID….
    thank u..

  4. Manjoosha
    August 2, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Hi,
    I am new to testing.I want some testing template examples for testing a website.Can u please send some examples to my Email ID….
    thank u..

  5. Avinash
    August 8, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Hi,

    I am new to web testing project.
    I want some Test Case\Report examples related to Web Testing?
    Can you pls help, where to find them?

    Thanx

  6. parimal
    September 9, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    hi.i m new to web testing..
    I want some Test Case\Report examples related to Web Testing?

  7. parimal
    September 9, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Can u please send some examples to my Email ID….

  8. kavitha reddy
    September 16, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I am new to web testing project.I am new to web testing project.Can u please send some examples to my Email ID….

  9. binod kant mishra
    September 21, 2008 at 11:36 am

    i am a new from konnagar but i do not have practical experience and i want to be web tester so is there any thing you can help me by providing any practical example which can put my theoratical knowledge into practical shape

  10. Binod kant mishra
    September 28, 2008 at 11:22 am

    i am a new from konnagar but i do not have practical experience and i want to be web tester so is there any thing you can help me by providing any practical example which can put my theoratical knowledge into practical shape
    can you please send some examples to my email ID.
    binodkantmishraganesh@hotmail.com

  11. Joe
    November 4, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Hi Thiyagarajan,

    I am new to Web Testing. I found your articles on web testing very useful. I feel that I need some sample info on web test cases (functional, sql, performance, etc…) Could you be so kind and send me some examples of Test Cases and Test Plans.

    I would really appreciate your help.
    Kind Regards
    Joe

  12. Joe
    November 4, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Hi Thiyagarajan,

    I am new to Web Testing. I found your articles on web testing very useful. I feel that I need some sample info on web test cases (functional, sql, performance, etc…) Could you be so kind and send me some examples of Test Cases and Test Plans.

    can you please send some examples to my email serhan2uk@yahoo.co.uk
    I would really appreciate your help.
    Kind Regards
    Joe

  13. Joe
    November 4, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Hi Thiyagarajan,

    How would you test the web RSS Feed and how would you test SEO (search engine optimisation) and do these fit in the functionality testing category

  14. January 3, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    hi,
    i want test cases & test conditions to wriye for all credit transactions in the bank.

  15. rahul bhatnagar
    January 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    hi this is rahul need some sample test cases for web testing,
    please provide me if u can

  16. hitesh shah
    January 28, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    this is good article but we want details of every point with example . it will be best to understand.
    thanks

  17. shenilsr
    February 12, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    hi ,
    my name is SHENIL S R…..i’m working as a s/w tester with a web apllication company. i think these articles will be very useful for me. i need some sample tecase formats for web testing..if u have a mond to help me please mail me the formats. it wil be very helpful to me and i wil be tankfull to you…
    thank you,

  18. Giovanni
    February 17, 2009 at 9:05 am

    hi Thiyagarajan
    i’ve to a assesment for Monitor system Pilot and i really don’t know hot to do it,could u please give me some sample?
    the scenario is:
    “You’re a contract consultant working for John Ng the IT manager at ABC.Your current project involves testing a new web system at ABC.You have been selected for this project since u are familiar wiith the processes of system testing and have been involved in the development of the website.”
    My tasks are:
    1.Gather Clients requirements
    2.Create a taste plan (time,what u testing,Location)
    3.Perform test
    4.Document the test result
    5.Prepare result sheet
    6.Analyse result
    7.User evaluation form

    Please i really need a help.
    Thank you.

  19. Giovanni
    February 18, 2009 at 8:28 am

    hi Thiyagarajan
    i’ve to a assesment for Monitor system Pilot and i really don’t know hot to do it,could u please give me some sample?
    the scenario is:
    “You’re a contract consultant working for John Ng the IT manager at ABC.Your current project involves testing a new web system at ABC.You have been selected for this project since u are familiar wiith the processes of system testing and have been involved in the development of the website.”
    My tasks are:
    1.Gather Clients requirements
    2.Create a taste plan (time,what u testing,Location)
    3.Perform test
    4.Document the test result
    5.Prepare result sheet
    6.Analyse result
    7.User evaluation form

    Please i really need a help.
    Thank you.

    p.s can u please let me know if you got my message?

  20. df
    March 17, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    dsfff

  21. haridoss
    March 25, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    i am new to mutual fund domain. please send test cases format which u have in mutual fund domain

  22. vinod
    May 29, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    hi i m vinod from srm university ,i need some test cases formate
    plz send me on my email.

  23. Vignesh
    August 16, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Hi i am new to web application testing..Can u plz send me sample test cases for any web application …

  24. Vignesh
    August 16, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Hi i am new to web application testing..Can u plz send me sample test cases for any web application …mail me to this id
    vickyr.info@gmail.com

  25. shelma
    September 16, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Hi,
    I am new to Web Application Testing.Will anybody send me some sample test cases for web applications to my email.

  26. jaga
    November 23, 2010 at 11:10 am

    hi im very new to testing field, done MCA kongu eng,
    will anybody send me some sample test cases for Usability testing ……

  27. jaga
    November 23, 2010 at 11:10 am

    i im very new to testing field, done MCA kongu eng,
    will anybody send me some sample test cases for Usability testing …… jagadeeskumar@gmail.com

  28. charul
    December 15, 2010 at 12:04 am

    alert(“hello”)good site

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

